Tuesday, May 17, 2011

How to Turn off Local Encryption by Default in the Notes 8.x Client

What's this All About
If you have a test environment for your Lotus Notes applications, then chances are that you regularly find yourself copying (not replicating) from Production to test - and probably via a Local connection.

If you do this a lot, then chances are that at some point you've forgotten to deselect the default local encryption. This is a great security feature but it's quite embarrassing when you arrive at your test site with a database which won't open.

Did you know that you can change the default. It happened sometime in release 8.x but I don't know exactly when. I just know that I changed it a while ago and a few times since I've had developers express surprise because they didn't realize that we now have that feature.


Here's How to Turn it Off by Default
In your Notes client;
  1. Click File then Preferences from the Menu
  2. On the left hand side of the preferences screen, expand Replication and Sync.
  3. Click on Default.
  4. In the middle of the Preferences Panel, deselect [_] Encrypt Locally Using.
  5. Click the button marked Ok.
  6. The Change will take place immediately.

1 comment:

PatC said...

I've recently run into the same thing. Going forward, we'll be more careful, but now I need a way to identify the dBs on our servers that have the encryption turned on. Do you know of a way to test if a database has been encrypted?

I have built a cataloging app that pulls in almost all the properties of the databases on a server. I'd like to be able to include whether the dB is encrypted.

Since this setting is chosen when replicating with a check box, I don't understand why there doesn't seem to be a $ or $$ field for it.

Any help would be appreciated.